top of page

In late 2023 we were asked by Capital Football if we were interested and ready to play in the NPLG competition as Canberra United Academy had been disbanded. Trials began at the end of 2023 and for the 2024 season, BellaMonaor WFC fielded teams in the U14, U15 and U17 competitions.

NPLG annoucement.jpg

In 2023, Football Australia initiated the Game Changer Club Network and BMWFC became the first club in the ACT and region to gain 1 Star membership. This membership demonstrates our commitment and dedication to the development of Womens and Girls Football. Membership gives the club access to the network's resources, information, webinars and events. We will be working within the Game Changer network to support our players, grow our club and maintain positive playing environments for women and girls through improved sessions and education.

1 Star Website Tile.png

We enjoyed our first State League team (Division 2) in 2022. Our longer term vision is that in 2022, the partnership will found the first Women’s and Girl’s Only Football Club in the ACT, look to re-apply for the Capital Football NPLW (currently under independent review), while continuing to build our community league presence, using the international standard fields of the Regional Sports Centre being built on the NSW/ACT border just behind Hume at Tralee as our new home.

Brindabella Blues and Monaro Panthers have formed an exciting partnership in BellaMonaro Griffins to field combined teams in the 2022 competition across the U12-U18s. We currently have 110 players making seven teams - 1 x U12, 2 x U14, 2 x U16 and an U18 team plus one State League team. Please contact Michael Sutton to come and join the best all-female football club in the region.

2021 U16 Div 1 - Growling Griffins 210807 02.jpg

In 2021 the Brindabella Blues and Monaro Panthers extended their 2020 NPLW partnership to all junior girls teams from U12s to U18s across all Divisions and will play as the BellaMonaro Griffins, in our new panther black and eagle blue colours. All Miniroos (U5s to U11s) and State League teams will continue to play for their home partnership club (ie. either Brindabella or Monaro).

The first BellaMonaro Women's Football Club AGM was held on 21 November 2021 and the inaugural committee was formed along with the formal adoption of the BellaMonaro Women's Football Club Constitution.

The first female only football club in the Canberra region was formed in 2021 as the BellaMonaro Women's Football Club. Girls from 12 - 18 formed Community League Division 1, 2 or 3 teams.

Photos is Michael Sutton (inaugural President) signing the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU).

New Bella Monaro President Michael Sutton, signing the Partnership MOU between Brindabella
bottom of page